Alex The Astronaut’s Debut Album ‘The Theory of Absolutely Nothing’ Out Now

Sydney, Australia-based singer, songwriter and storyteller Alex The Astronaut released her anticipated debut album The Theory Of Absolutely Nothing today via Nettwerk. Across ten heart-swelling, folk-infected pop songs, Alex grapples with the multitudes of life and emerges optimistic. Brought to life with upbeat melodies, plucked guitar and Alex’s signature vocals, the album is the work of a storyteller attuned to the world around her. She also shares a new Tatjana Hamilton-directed video for “Caught In The Middle.” In it, Alex hits the tennis court with Australian music legend and drummer from the influential band The Go-Betweens, Lindy Morrison.

“The Theory of Absolutely Nothing is ten stories that try to paint a picture of what the world looked like to me when I wrote them.” notes Alex. “I wanted the dark and the light to sit next to each other. I wanted listening to it to be kind of what it would be like to fly around and watch what all different people go through in one day.”

The album was co-produced by Ball Park Music’s Sam Cromack and Daniel Hanson, mixed by Victor Van Vugt (Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey, Beth Orton) and written / recorded across an 18-month period between Australia and the UK. Throughout The Theory Of Absolutely Nothing, Alex takes listeners on a journey of love, loss, pain and change. She weaves a constellation of stories about the personal reckonings that come with growing up, as heard on the album’s previously released singles including “I Think You’re Great,” “Split the Sky,” “Lost” and “Banksia,” which have received praise from the likes of NPR Music, The Guardian, Refinery29, Brooklyn Vegan and FLOOD Magazine.