Mob Rich Announces Debut Album ‘Why No Why’

Today, alt-pop duo Mob Rich (formerly Moby Rich) reveals their debut album, Why No Why, will be arriving on May 14th. To celebrate the announcement, the band shares a new single entitled “Hell Yeah” from the upcoming record.

On the track, a lo-fi beat is paired with bouncy verses before the momentum gives way to a hypnotic hook, “Hell yeah, I’m in slow motion.” Once again, Mob Rich delivers another laidback anthem that’s both quotable and chantable.

On the new single, Mob Rich says, “‘Hell Yeah’ is a song of anticipation and anxiety. Waiting for your crush to call or come over. How that person can always be floating around your head even when you sleep. It’s about the process of someone slowly becoming the thing that you rely on and how they in a lot of ways become your ‘home.’ But it’s all jam packed in a really fun and quirky sonic space”.

The duo continues, “The album name ‘Why No Why’ is the tongue in cheek jab at ourselves and our name change. Going from one name to another seemingly overnight, simply by changing the Y, made a lot of people ask why, so this our little joke for our day one fans. But on a more serious note, it’s a short way of expressing how we communicate with each other. We’re constantly having conversations of the ‘why’ in our everyday lives, and this album is a compilation of those conversations we’ve had.”

“This album moves sonically through a spectrum of our favorite genres. From our song ‘Made To Fall’ with production influenced by our singer songwriter days, to songs like ‘Funeral’ that remind us of our punk rock emo phase. Which, we’re sure everyone has gone through at some point or is currently still in. This album shows many sides to us, and we hope our fans are able to connect with all of them in their own way,” says Mob Rich.

Of the band’s most recent single “Everything and Nothing,” Beyond The Stage raved, “Mob Rich got us feeling like a million bucks with this new, bouncy track,” and Mystic Sons praised, “US outfit bring some fun and bouncing energy to their latest pop-rock delight.” Gig Goer added, “With an irresistible rhythm lying at the core of the track, ‘Everything and Nothing’ is a slick blend of melancholy pop subtleties and dance leaning production,” while Casablanca Sunset dubbed it, “A soft and approachable listen, this mellifluous treat is euphorically simple.” The song was recently featured on the latest season of The CW’s Riverdale. Watch the official video HERE.

At the end of 2020, the duo released the Songs We Didn’t Write, VOL. 2 EP, which featured covers of “The Killing Moon” by Echo & The Bunnymen and “Sweet Disposition” by Temper Trap. Earlier in the year, Mob Rich joined forces with multiplatinum songstress Bishop Briggs for the single “friends*.” It has already racked up nearly 2.5 million Spotify streams and 130K YouTube views on the music video. FLOOD described it as “an impassioned duet,” and Variety named it among the “Top New Singles of the Week,” going on to write it “expresses a fairly common theme, but the video has an unexpected same-sex theme, and also deserves big props for its imaginative direction.”