Two Mocs Honored With SoCon Postseason Awards

A pair of University of Tennessee at Chattanooga women’s tennis student-athletes earned postseason recognition from the Southern Conference, the league office announced today. Junior Emma Van Hee was a second team All-SoCon pick in singles, while Jessie Young made the SoCon All-Freshman Team.

“Jessie and Emma led the program this season,” stated head coach Chad Camper. “Playing at the top of the lineup is a day-to-day commitment and both excelled at the No. 1 and No. 2 positions.”

“Jessie has the tools to continue to improve and take Chattanooga Tennis to the top of the conference. Emma is the example to the women on the team. They all look up to her while she is competing.”

Van Hee, a native of Tournai, Belgium, led the Mocs with a 19-7 overall record this season. It is the third year in a row she has either led or tied for team-high in singles wins. She was 14-4 at No. 2 in the spring, ending the season on a three-match winning streak.

A two-time Academic All-SoCon honoree, Van Hee is 64-41 in singles play for her career. She recently passed Shaina Singh (2009-12) for sixth-most wins on record at UTC. Van Hee is the first Moc to earn All-SoCon singles recognition since Samantha Caswell in 2018.

Young, who hails from Canton, Ga., is in her second season playing the No. 1 position for the Mocs. She is eligible for all-freshman recognition because the 2020 year was cut short due to the COVID-19 pandemic and the SoCon did not have postseason honors for those spring sports. The NCAA also allowed all student-athletes who competed in the spring 2020 season to get back that year of eligibility.

Young battled a tough conference lineup, finishing with a 12-14 overall mark and a 7-11 record at No. 1. She was 17-11 in doubles play, including 9-7 at No. 2 with Bogdana Zaporozhets. Young is the first Moc to earn SoCon All-Freshman honors since Van Hee in 2018.

First Team
Laylo Bakhodirova, ETSU
Andrea Pascual-Larrinaga, ETSU
Julia Adams, Furman
Katarina Kozarov, Furman
Rouxanne Janse Van Rensburg, Samford
Kata Foldeak, Western Carolina
Lilie Steryous, Wofford
*features seven players due to a tie in the voting

Julia Adams/Katarina Kozarov, Furman
Madison Dillon/MaryAnn Rompf, Furman
Rouxanne Janse Van Rensburg/Alexis Lopez, Samford

Second Team
Singles (by position)
No. 1 – Jenna Vroman, Wofford
No. 2 – Emma Van Hee, Chattanooga
No. 3 – Madison Dillon, Furman
No. 4 – Emilia Alfaro, ETSU
No. 5 – Maria Fernanda Carvajal, ETSU
No. 6 – Ellie Schoppe, Furman

Doubles (by position)
No. 1 – Julia Pezzuco/Jacy Smith, Western Carolina
No. 2 – Natalia De Ugarte/Cindy Oest, Samford
No. 3 – Maria Fernanda Carvajal/ Andrea Pascual-Larrinaga, ETSU

Maria Fernanda Carvajal, ETSU
Ellie Schoppe, Furman
Mary Courville, Mercer
Alexis Lopez, Samford
Jessie Young, Chattanooga
Kata Foldeak, Western Carolina

Player of the Year
Katarina Kozarov, Furman

Freshman of the Year
Maria Fernanda Carvajal, ETSU

Sportsmanship Award
Jenna Vroman, Wofford

Coach of the Year
Ricky Rojas, ETSU