Hamilton All-Conference, Barrios All-Freshman as SoCon Announces Honors

The Southern Conference office announced women’s golf honors Tuesday afternoon. The teams were nominated by their coaching staffs and voted on by all nine head coaches while not being able to vote for their own student-athletes.

Chattanooga boasts one all-conference and one all-freshman performer. Sophomore Esme Hamilton earned her first All-SoCon berth, while Beatriz Barrios was recognized All-Freshman for her impressive debut campaign.

Hamilton led the squad in scoring average for the second straight year, this time at 74.75 strokes per 18. That was +2.75 vs.par and is the ninth best all-time by that stat. Last year’s 73.33 (1.76) is second. She, San Juan (5th & 10th) and Emma de Groot ’11 (3rd, 4th & 6th) are the only ones mentioned two or more times on the list.

Hamilton paced the squad in birdies (2.47), par or better holes (75.8%), fewest bogeys (3.61), par 3 (3.13) and par 4 (4.19) scoring. She also led the team in top 10s with 5, while sharing the top spot in top 5s with three. That included a career-best second place at the Chattanooga Classic at Black Creek.

That shared position was with Barrios. The freshman from Sevelle, Spain was fifth at the Terrier Intercollegiate in October before a third at the Allstate Sugar Bowl Intercollegiate and runner-up the followeing week at the Pinetree Collegiate in March.

Barrios averaged 75.53 posting the squad’s top score of 68 with that closing 4 under making her strong charge to second at Pinetree. She led the team in pars (11.25) and fewest others (0.72) while tying Daphne van Son for eagles (0.06).

Hamilton is the 26th all-conference selection in Colette Murray’s 14 seasons, while Barrios’ all-freshman nod is the 14th.

All-Southern Conference
Esme Hamilton, Chattanooga
Julia Goodson, ETSU
Tereza Melecka, ETSU
Warda Amira Rawof, ETSU
Madison Moosa Furman
Anna Morgan, Furman
Sarah-Eve Rheaume, Furman
Lauren Lightfritz, Mercer
Payton Schanen, Mercer
Tara Bettle, UNCG

Beatriz Barrios, Chattanooga
Grace Chin, ETSU
Anna Morgan, Furman
Tracy Rodriguez, Mercer
Bailey Dunstan, Samford

Player of the Year: Tereza Melecka, ETSU

Freshman of the Year: Anna Morgan, Furman

Coach of the Year: Stefanie Shelton, ETSU