Lintunen All-Conference as SoCon Announces Honors

The Southern Conference office announced men’s golf honors Tuesday afternoon. The teams were nominated by their coaching staffs and voted on by all eight head coaches while not being able to vote for their own student-athletes.

Chattanooga boasts one all-conference performer in recent graduate A.J. Lintunen (pronounced lynn-TIN-nen). It’s his first such honor after COVID-19 cancellation of last season cut off his chances of a second.

Lintunen led the Mocs with a 72.93 stroke average collecting two wins and three top 5s for the campaign. That included 11 par or better cards with a team-high four in the 60s. He was also top on the squad in birdies (3.23), par or better holes (78.2%), fewest others (0.46), as well as par 3 (3.17) and 4 (4.12) scoring.

His two wins this year were the first of his career. A.J.’s the 4th Moc with two or more in a season joining Stephan Jaeger ’12 (3-2012), Jonathan Hodge ’09 (3-2008) & Bryce Ledford ’07 (2-2005). The win at the J.T. Poston Invite in October was the first individual win since Simonsen’s school-record performance capturing the 2018 Memphis Intercollegiate at Colonial Country Club.

Lintunen’s good run started last year averaging 72.61 over his final 41 cards. That’s just 34 over for 14 events (740 holes). His second win came at the Sea Palms Invitational in March with a 2-under 211 at the Sea Palms Resort on St. Simons Island, Ga.

All-Southern Conference
A.J. Lintunen, Chattanooga
Archie Davies, R-Fr., ETSU
Shiso Go, Sr., ETSU
Trevor Hulbert, Gr., ETSU
Keller Harper, Sr., Furman
Tyler Copp, Sr., Mercer
Symon Balbin, R-Fr., UNCG
Pierre Viallaneix, R-Fr., Western Carolina
Matthew Copeland, Sr., Wofford
Ryan Marter, Sr., Wofford

Archie Davies, ETSU
Mac Scott, Furman
Symon Balbin, UNCG
Pierre Viallaneix, Western Carolina
Matthew Larkin, Wofford

Players of the Year: Archie Davies, ETSU & Keller Harper, Furman

Freshman of the Year: Archie Davies, ETSU

Coach of the Year: Jake Amos, ETSU