The Truth To Power Project Enlists Leon Bridges, Keite Young, Black Pumas And More For Charity Compilation

Today, The Truth To Power Project, the Texas-based initiative and creative endeavor, announces their non-profit compilation album Truth To Power, out on Record Store Day, June 12th. Curated by Dallas-based Eastwood Music Group, they’ve joined forces with the Dallas Mavericks and FirstCom Music (Universal Music Production Group), for a triple LP set that will benefit and bring awareness to several well-established local non-profits that are engaged in creating opportunities through Black leadership in their community.

The four non-profits that will be the beneficiaries of this project include the Music Forward Foundation, For Oak Cliff, Joppy Momma’s Farm, and Young Leaders, Strong City, all of who look to bolster underrepresented and underserved communities in positive ways. Ensuing projects as part of this endeavor will also help to raise funds to highlight independent Black-owned businesses in the greater Dallas Fort Worth (DFW) Metroplex.

Truth To Power features the best in soul, psych and jazz around the US and Canada with songs by Grammy-nominated band Black Pumas, BADBADNOTGOOD, Elliott Skinner, Flower Child, Sarah Jaffe and Sam Lao, Grammy-winning producer S1, and Holy Hive just to name a few. The album also includes the previously-released single “Like A Ship” by Grammy winner Leon Bridges and fellow Fort Worth artist Keite Young, which is a rework of the 1971 track by Pastor T.L. Barrett, as well as the new track releasing today, “Didn’t I” by New York-raised family quartet, the Sha La Das. The track is a cover of Darondo’s early 70s underground classic with the group’s father and son harmonies beautifully floating over Tom Brenneck’s production.