The Scientists Share Second Track From New Studio Album, ‘Negativity’, Out June 11

The Scientists’ powerful brand of deranged swamp-rock returns with a vengeance on June 11, when Los Angeles’ In The Red Records unleashes Negativity, an all-new magnum opus featuring the first new full-length album by the Australian band’s penultimate line-up in 35 years. The first track from the album, Outsider, was released last month, along with a video, directed by Andrew Watson.

“I Wasn’t Good At Picking Friends”, the second track taken from the album, premiered on Henry Rollins’ KCRW show over the weekend and is out today on all digital platforms. Says Kim Salmon; “So Tony Thewlis, the Scientists lead guitarist, sends me a riff and immediately a chorus pops into my head singing “Beware, the Ides Of March!”. Now this is inappropriate coz’ this is a ‘chorus’, as in a Greek Tragedy, and the line’s from Shakespeare’s depiction of ancient Rome! It don’t matter! It’s only Rock n Roll. I run with it. No soothsayers, just a chorus of female backing singers! So what do I sing? Well obviously! I’m Julius Caesar now and I have to turn “et tu Brute” into a punk rock song! How do I do that? Well, Tony’s riff makes the racket people have come to expect from the Scientists! Add to that equal measures of drum and bass chaos and throw in an atonal fuzz guitar solo for good measure! Sounds like the Scientists to me! Will the punters buy it? We don’t care! I guess we’re still the same old punks we always were…..”

Negativity is the third Scientists release and the first full-length album for In The Red. The current quartet cut the single “Braindead”/“SurvivalsKills” in 2018 and the five-song 2019 EP 9H2O SiO2, the title of which translates (in a hat tip to the lyrics of the group’s classic “Swampland”) as Nine Parts Water, One Part Sand. Those recordings were issued in conjunction with the group’s first two U.S. tours during that period. The bruising 11-track collection features a Scientists configuration much beloved by connoisseurs of the band’s work: singer-guitarist Kim Salmon, lead guitarist Tony Thewlis, and bassist Boris Sujdovic, all veterans of the group’s defining 1981-85 outfit, and drummer Leanne Cowie, who replaced drummer Brett Rixon on the storming 1986 release Weird Love.