Twin Shadow Releases New Album

Today, Twin Shadow (George Lewis Jr.) releases his self-titled album. Out via his own Cheree Cheree label, Twin Shadow brims with joy. The album represents Lewis’ biggest sonic shift to date and finds the artist reexamining the cherished sounds of the golden era of soul and punk that were part of his musical upbringing and embracing his Dominican heritage, recording portions of the album at FAMA Studios in the Dominican Republic.

The ten songs on the album are imbued with the same energy and curiosity that compels someone to first pick up an instrument and noodle around, not because they harbor aspirations to write a hit but rather for the thrill of hearing—and feeling—what’s capable of happening when a string is plucked or a hand brushes over a snare. The songs on Twin Shadow are distillations of beautiful memories and stories both real and imagined.

Twin Shadow includes the previously-released singles “Sugarcane,” “Lonestar,” “Get Closer,” “Alemania,” which features backing vocals by Kadhja Bonet, and “Johnny & Jonnie,” which Consequence of Sound described as “melodica riding over waves of electronics that would make Gorillaz groove.” The album follows his 2018 full-length Caer and a string of 2019 standalone singles that include “Crushed,” “Truly,” and “Only For The Broken-Hearted,” along with an appearance on the hit Netflix series 13 Reasons Why soundtrack with “Walk Forever By My Side.” The record also follows Twin Shadow’s collaborations with Duval Timothy on his critically acclaimed album Help where he features on tracks “Slave” and “Groundnut.”