Guided By Voices Share New Single “Dance Of The Gurus”

Following 4 **** & 5 ***** star reviews for Earth Man Blues in April, in addition to a secret-identity side project called Cub Scout Bowling Pins in July, Guided By Voices are quickly back with another wild new album, IT’S NOT THEM. IT COULDN’T BE THEM. IT IS THEM!. The LP is out October 22nd via GBV Inc..

Today, Guided By Voices are back with the album’s third single, “Dance of Gurus,” which comes alongside a rare music video from their camp by Aaron Dunkel and Michael Nigro, premiered via FLOOD.

Said accompanying video for “Dance of Gurus” translates the guitar-led track into a psychedelic fantasy, a collage-like world pieced together with imagery of the band performing, split up with eclectically whimsical clips from many different sources. It’s best if you watch for yourself!

On the track, guitarist Doug Gillard said, “We love playing this one. It’s great. ‘Gurus’ here is pronounced the traditional way, with the emphasis on both syllables.”

We’re rushing out the singles for the new (October) album, so fans can sing along when we start playing shows in a few weeks. If you’re not yet vaccinated, get it now so you can come to a show,” said the band. GBV’s Fall 2021 Tour continues this week.




GUIDED BY VOICES 2021 TOUR

Sat, Aug 28 – Athenaeum Theatre – Columbus, OH
Fri, Sep 10 – Irving Plaza – New York, NY
Sat, Sep 11 – Royale – Boston, MA
Fri, Oct 8 – Tellus360 – Lancaster, PA
Fri, Oct 22 – Ottobar – Baltimore, MD
Sat, Oct 23 – College Street Music Hall – New Haven, CT
Fri, Nov 12 – Thalia Hall – Chicago, IL
Sat, Nov 13 – Beachland Ballroom – Cleveland, OH
Fri, Dec 17 – Phoenix – Toronto, ONT
Sat, Dec 18 – Mr. Smalls – Pittsburgh, PA
Fri, December 31 – Brooklyn Made – Brooklyn, NY
Fri, March 18 – Majestic Theatre – Madison, WI
Sat, March 19 – Fine Line – Minneapolis, MN
Sat, March 26 – Neumos – Seattle, WA
Sun, March 27 – Revolution Hall – Portland, OR
Tue, March 29 – Great American Music Hall – San Francisco, CA
Wed, March 30 – The Catalyst – Santa Cruz, CA
Fri, April 1 – Teragram Ballroom – Los Angeles, CA
Sat, April 2 – Pappy & Harriets – Pioneertown, CA