I Speak Machine Releases New Album ‘WAR’

I Speak Machine, the experimental music act and audio-visual project of musician Tara Busch, is excited to announce the release of their brand new full-length album, WAR. Created with filmmaker and collaborator Maf Lewis, co-produced with Dean Honer (Roísín Murphy, Add N To (X)), and out today, WAR is a collection of Busch’s most visceral, confrontational and honest music yet.

Taking four years to complete, WAR allowed Busch to push herself into new, unfamiliar territories in her synth-based songwriting, while also returning to the immediate, aggressive spirit of her past life in rock. The Trump presidency was a looming presence, which prompted Busch to explore not only the country’s sinister political atmosphere but the turmoil that was raging in her own life.

Additionally, I Speak Machine will be making numerous North American and European appearances supporting electronic icon Gary Numan beginning in late May and extending through June, August and September.

“I felt like, ‘fuck it. I don’t feel like I need to answer anybody for wanting to work with a producer again. Bowie did it. The Beatles did it. They sure as hell weren’t editing drum takes like I was’. But women are set to different standards; it’s a million times more difficult to be taken seriously if you are a woman in this field, and I wanted to say ‘fuck you’ to that.” From their respective sides of the Atlantic, the duo worked with an impressive armory of gear — Busch with her Roland 808, ARP 2600, and Oberheim Two Voice, and Honer on Synthi AKS, Polivoks, and Minimoog,” says Busch.

“The album opens on title track ‘WAR’, where with darkly danceable synths Busch creates a rousing battle song. Elsewhere, the defiant ‘Beat Down By Heaven’ and the haunting ‘Dirty Soul’ utilize some of the album’s grimiest synth sounds to face the spectre of Busch’s childhood in the Catholic church head-on. “No record about mental turmoil would be complete without a prod to the ribs of Catholicism,” she says. Of the latter song, she expands: “I wanted to sing about the painful yet delightful yet embarrassing yet weirdly satisfying breakdown of when the facade of religion cracks, piece by piece. If I have what is considered a ‘filthy heart’ by the Catholic church, I must be doing something right.”

I Speak Machine will be making the following North American and European appearances in 2022.

24 — Dublin, Ireland — Olympia Theater *
26 — Amsterdam, Netherlands — Melkweg *
27 — Aarhus, Denmark — Train – Aarhus *
29 — Copenhagen, Denmark — Amager Bio – Kobenhavn *
30 — Oslo, Norway — John Dee (Ved Rockefeller) *
31 — Malmo, Sweden — Kulturbolaget *

02 — Berlin, Germany — Columbia Theater *
03 — Warsaw, Poland — Progresja *
07 — Paris, France — Le Cabaret Sauvage *
10 — Madrid, Spain — Sala But *
11 — Barcelona, Spain — Sala Razzmatazz *
13 — Brussels, Belgium — Ancienne Belgique *
14 — Munich, Germany — Backstage Werk *
15 — Leipzig, Germany — Taubchenthal *
16 — Hamburg, Germany — Markhalle *
17 — Frankfurt, Germany — Batschkapp *

31 — Pomona, CA — The Glass House *

01 — San Francisco, CA — Bimbo’s 365 Club *
03 — Portland, OR — Revolution Hall *
05 — Vancouver, BC — Commodore Ballroom *
06 — Spokane, WA — Knitting Factory *
07 — Boise, ID — Knitting Factory *
08 — Salt Lake City, UT — Metro Music Hall *
09 — Denver, CO — Gothic Theatre *
10 — Omaha, NE — Waiting Room *
11 — Minneapolis, MN — First Avenue *

* — supporting Gary Numan