UTC’s Zalewska, Hamilton Earn All-SoCon Honors

The Chattanooga Mocs women’s golf program placed two on the All-Southern Conference squad voted on by the coaches and announced by the league office on Tuesday. It’s the second such honor for Esme Hamilton and first for 2022 SoCon Champion Dorota Zalewska.

“It’s really great to have two players on the all-conference team,” Coach Colette Murray acknowledged. “Both Esme and Dori had good years, and we appreciate all their hard work. They have consistently played at a high level all year, and that is shown by this accomplishment.

“Women’s golf in the Southern Conference is incredibly strong, and I am glad that we can contribute to the strength and depth of our conference, and the all-conference team.”

Hamilton is the eighth Mocs golfer to boast mutliple All-SoCon mentions. She joins 4-time members Emma de Groot ’11 and Emily McLennan ’16; 3-time selections Jordan Britt ’14, Agathe Sauzon ’15 and Monica San Juan ’19; along with fellow two timers Christine Wolf ’11 and Maria Juliana Loza ’12.

Zalewska and Hamilton mark 28 all-time mentions. It’s the 10th time with multiple honorees in the program’s 15 years competing in the SoCon.

Both ladies are chasing history. Zalewska’s 72.48 stroke average in nearly a stroke better than McLennan’s record of 73.34 in 2016. Hamilton is close by at 73.41.

Next up is the NCAA Championships. The announcement for regional location is Wednesday, April 27, at 5 p.m., on the Golf Channel. Zalewska has an automatic bid due to her triumph at the SoCon Championships. Hamilton awaits news as well at her inclusion. The last NCAA appearance for the Mocs was Monica San Juan’s individual bid in 2019.

Regional play begins May 9 in one of six locations: Albuquerque, N.M. (Championship Course at UNM), Ann Arbor, Mich. (U-M Golf Course), Franklin, Tenn. (Vanderbilt Legends Club), Stanford, Calif. (Stanford G.C.), Stillwater, Okla. (Karstern Creek G.C.) & Tallahassee, Fla. (Don Veller Seminole G.C.). Competitors look to advance to Grayhawk Golf Club in Scottsdale, Ariz., May 20-25, for the finals. The top two individual finishers on non-advancing teams (Top 4) move on to Scottsdale.

2022 All-Southern Conference
Esme Hamilton, Jr., Chattanooga
Dorota Zalewska, Jr., Chattanooga
Sera Hasegawa, Fr., ETSU
Hollie Muse, Sr., ETSU
Sophia Burnett, So., Furman
Anna Morgan, Jr., Furman
Sarah-Eve Rheaume, Sr., Furman
Kate Song, Fr., Mercer
Tara Bettle, Gr., UNCG
Becca Earl, Sr., Wofford

2021-22 All-Freshman Team
Sophie Bert, ETSU
Sera Hasegawa, ETSU
Mikayla Dubnik, Mercer
Kate Song, Mercer
Elizabeth Lohbauer, Western Carolina

Player of the Year: Anna Morgan, Jr., Furman
Freshman of the Year: Sera Hasegawa, ETSU
Coach of the Year: Angie Ridgeway, Wofford