Witchslayer – Debut Album of 80’s Penned Metal Tracks Out Now

Following the success of Witchslayer’s five-song demo in the early 1980’s, Metal Blade Records included the song “I Don’t Want To Die” on the iconic Metal Massacre 4 compilation album.

Unfortunately, the group disbanded before a new full length album could be recorded.

Fast forward to 2022, original singer Jeff Allen has reformed the band with guitarist Ken Mandat (Damien Thorne), bassist Mick Lucid (Vicious Circle), and drummer Gabriel Anthony (Tyrant’s Reign).

The new album features 11 hard-hitting tracks which were originally written by the original lineup

in the early 80s, but recorded by the new lineup in the 2020’s.

“The songs were written in the early 80’s and were mostly influenced by the New Wave of British Heavy Metal ( NWOBHM) bands. They are US Power Doom Metal songs and reflect the Chicago Doom Metal sound that was created in the 80’s by Chicago bands such as Witchslayer, War Cry & Trouble. When we wrote the music we wanted it to be creepy/haunting in nature. Most of the songs were written around stories we read about the Salem Witch Trials. I decided to reform the band with active Chicago Metal musicians who were around in the 80’s. We formally recorded this music to keep it’s 80’s sound but with a more modern tuning,” says Jeff Allen/Witchslayer.